The Program

Arriaga                   Overture to Los Esclavos Felices

Mozart                   Piano Concerto N. 17 

Beethoven             Symphony N. 5

About This Program

  • It takes away your breath, puts you atop the world, makes you fear for your life and dance for joy. The ultimate statement in music, the 5th Symphony is fate knocking at Beethoven’s door. This performance will be the COT’s first ever performance of Beethoven’s eternal masterwork.

  • It is not every day as a composer that an Emperor will tip his hat to you and say “Bravo.” Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.18 inspired Emperor Joseph II to do just that. Composed during the most prolific year of Mozart’s life, this concerto is the epitome of elegance and grace.

  • Considered the “Spanish Mozart” Juan Crisóstomo Arriaga was also a child prodigy, and like Mozart died at a very young age (19). One of his few surviving works, the Overture to Los Esclavos Felices (The Happy Slaves) is an invigorating burst of teenage energy.

1 hour and 30 minutes, with intermission

Guest Artist

What You'll Hear

Getting Here

Directions to the Carolina Theatre

Getting Here

Directions to the Carolina Theatre

Season Packages Get You More

Learn about subscription benefits and savings

A piano concerto by Mozart and Beethoven’s ultimate statement

Beethoven is Knocking

Sunday, March 22, 2020 | 3:00 PM

  • White Facebook Icon
  • Instagram - White Circle
New to The COT?
Sign up for our mailing list, and we will let you in on what is going on
2020-21 Season
Your Support
Contact Us | The COT | (919) 335-6125

1213 E. Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27514