NC Student Fellowship

The COT's NC Student Fellowships give collegiate level students studying string instruments in the state of North Carolina the opportunity to gain experience and perform with a professional orchestra of the highest caliber. After the audition process, selected students will receive a one–year paid fellowship with the orchestra, giving them a spot in the COT’s string section for the season. 

Fellows will also have the opportunity to take part in COT masterclasses with guest soloists and receive chamber music coachings from the Verona Quartet, the COT's String Quartet in Residence.

Students that do not receive a fellowship may be offered a position on the COT’s sub list, making them eligible to be called in to play with the orchestra on a concert-to-concert basis.


- To audition, a student must be currently enrolled in a university in North Carolina, pursuing either a bachelor’s degree or a post-graduate degree
- If offered a fellowship, students must sign a contract stating that he/she will be present for all required COT rehearsals and performances (see attached calendar)

COT 2019-20 Concert and Rehearsal Schedule

Audition Dates and Locations

Friday, September 6, 2019 - East Carolina University

Saturday, September 7, 2019 - North Carolina School of the Arts

Saturday, September 7, 2019 - UNC-Greensboro

Sunday, September 8, 2019 - UNC-Chapel Hill


If you are interested in auditioning or have any questions, please contact providing your name, instrument, and institution. You will then be contacted with an audition time.

Audition Repertoire


Exposition of a concerto

Shostakovich Symphony N.9 - Mvt.1 (pickup to m.23-44)

Mozart Symphony N.35 - Mvt.1 (m.1-96)


Exposition of a concerto

Shostakovich Symphony N.9 - Mvt.1 (pickup to m.122-161)

Mozart Symphony N.35 - Mvt.1 (m.41-66)


Exposition of a concerto

Shostakovich Symphony N.9 - Mvt.1 (pickup to m.154-181)

Mozart Symphony N.35 - Mvt.1 (m.1-66)


Exposition of a concerto or a movement of solo Bach

Shostakovich Symphony N.9 - Mvt.1 (pickup to m.156-181)

Mozart Symphony N.35 - Mvt.1 (m.1-66)